About the Measure

Domains Motivation, goal orientation and perseverance, Social and Emotional Competence
Key stages Key Stage 5
Subscales Control of affect; Commitment/Control of effort; Challenge
Description The RAHS aims to gain a better understanding of why some students avoid challenging academic course work at the risk of harming their academic standing, whereas others are willing to pursue these types of challenges. The RAHS was designed to assess four dimensions: control of affect, control of effort, commitment, and challenge.
Example If I do poorly on a test I can stay calm
so that I can learn from my mistakes
Link http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/1069072704270274

Implementation details

No. of items 40
Format Likert
Respondent Self
Scoring Standardised
Time 0
Age 16-19
Cost single purchase Free - Available
Cost per child Free - Available

Psychometric details

UK norms No
Cronbach's α .81-.91
Test retest 3-5 days, r= [.81,.88]
Inter-rater reliability Not reported
EFA PCA with orthogo
CFA Not reported
Criterion validity Not reported
Construct validity Not reported
Concurrent validity r= [.29,.34] with SAT scores
Predictive validity Not reported
Responsiveness Not reported
Floor/Ceiling Not reported
References Benishek, L. A. (2005). Development and evaluation of the Revised Academic Hardiness Scale. Journal of Career Assessment, 13(1), 59–76. doi:10.1177/1069072704270274